The work of Pepper Reed

Unexpected

I work with a medium that helps acrylic paint flow. I love the liquidity and the motion it gives my paint. However, it doesn’t always move the way you expect it to move & often does exactly the opposite of what you want at the time. That being said, it is also makes things interesting and has given me some wonderful surprises. I had a teacher in high school call them “happy accidents.” Sometimes, they just don’t work.

But I have discovered something else in this process. It’s just paint. Like a bad haircut, the canvas doesn’t have to stay the way it is. If I don’t like what I’ve done, I have the option to paint over it. I don’t try to flatten the surface. In fact the first layer adds texture to the piece. I’ve found that I enjoy this extra dimension to my pieces. It makes my two dimensional painting literally stand out.

Leave a comment